Leave a comment

Stop teaching our kids to kill

When I read these statistics I didn’t believe how much of an effect films, games and other media can have on a person. The paragraph below displays some very disturbing activities that boys aged 13-17 admitted doing to people.

Dr. William Belson interviewed 1,565 British boys between 13 and 17 years of age. It reported that “I forced a girl to have sexual intercourse; I bashed a boy’s head against a wall; I threatened to kill my father; and I burned a boy on the chest with a cigarette while my mates held him down.” Research found that the boys who had watched above average amounts of television violence were currently engaged in rates of serious violence 49% higher than that of the boys who had watched below average quantities of violence. Point being, the brain solidifies the link between pleasure and violence. It is difficult to convince it that it isn’t normal to do so. Endorphins remember. Source from Stop teaching our kids to kill book.

I personally found this paragraph quite disturbing, but also intriguing that boys who only watched an average off TV are 49% more violent towards people. I also think that a person can play violent video games and watch violent TV without doing any harm to members of the public. The thing that I find strange is that we don’t know what background that person has come from. They could have already been violent and maybe the media has made their behavior even worse, or could they have this evil personality because of a certain game they have played.

A thing that also bothers me is the part where it says the brain solidifies the link between pleasure and violence. If a boy or girl is capable of getting pleasure and violence mixed up in to just one meaning should certain scenes in games be banned, or even make a higher aged limit on a game. On the next page of the book I found 4 bullet points that Jane Healey had wrote in her book titled Endangered Minds. This is what she had wrote…

1. The player experiences feelings of mastery and control. The less sense of power the child or teen feels in his or her life, the more this element may become important as an addictive factor.

2. The level of play is exactly calibrated to the player’s ability level. Rather than coping to the challenging problems in the real world, young people are easily drawn into following the more made-to order sequence in video games

3. The player receives immediate and continual reinforcement, which makes the games Particularly addictive.

4. The player can escape life and be immersed in a constructed reality that seems to be in totally in his or her control

I find her statements to be correct especially the 4th statement as I used to play games to feel better after being bullied from high school I felt like I could relax while playing a game, it felt like I could get away from all off the bullies, nobody could hurt me anymore. It might sound sad but it is how I felt, so I can understand the 4th reason that Jane Healey has mentioned.

Leave a Reply

