1 Comment

Better game characters by design a psychological approach

Chapter 1.2 The psychological principles

In this chapter Katherine Isbister explains about how the appearance of a person can make them be treated different to others, she talks about “the elephant man” after I researched him I found out that his name is Joseph Carey Merrick and he had a disease which effected his appearance, he was taken around Britain to be exhibited, people did not care how he felt as a person, maybe because they forgot that he is still a human being. I found this passage in his autobiography I was taunted and sneered at so that I would not go home to my meals, and used to stay in the streets with an hungry belly rather than return for anything to eat, what few half-meals I did have, I was taunted with the remark—’That’s more than you have earned”  If I am honest I had to say when I read this I was quite upset with what he said, I felt very sorry for him and how he must of felt. But what people didn’t realise was that Joseph was a very smart and creative man, he loved making buildings out of materials. I think that it shows that appearance is very important to people, even if they thinks its not.

In the book you are told to choose someone who you would like to work on a project with, you can choose from 2 characters in the image below.

people

It’s most likely that people would choose the man on the left purely on his appearance.

Reference
katherine Isbister. (2006). attractiveness. In: katherine Isbister better game characters by design a psychological approach. United states of America: elsevier inc. p7-10.

One comment on “Better game characters by design a psychological approach

  1. We stumbled over here coming from a different web page and thought I
    should check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to finding out about your web page for a second time.

Leave a Reply

