Leave a comment

My emotional attachment to video game characters

Dom_edit

 

Gears of war 3 is a 3rd person shooter where you fight monsters called locust, they are here to kill all of the humans and to just bring havoc to their world. In this world of death there is a character called Dominic Santiago who isn’t even the main character you play as but I still had a bond with him. I started this bond in gears of war 2 where the story was supposed to follow the main character but it sort of drifted to Dom who had a separate story which was to find his wife Maria. After a certain cut scene happens in gears of war 2, it had me emotional and in a way it made me bond with this character stronger, when you see Dom meet his wife for the first time it’s this scene where you can see all of the emotional from his face and the way he moves around. The scene was very beautifully created I loved the way how it actually affected me as a player. In gears of war 3 you see Dom has matured gotten older and wiser. There is a cut scene in the game which has been named as one of the most upsetting cut scenes that a game as ever had. When watching this scene I was holding my controller so tight and just staring at the television watching this character, I found it to be a beautifully created sad scene, I always remember a tear came down my face while watching this amazing scene, I think that the reason I cried was because over the games 1-3 I got to know this character and his story and his reasons for this fight. Throughout the games you could see him change his appearance and personality he changed from this person who had a lot of character to this killer which made the game that much better to play. I liked the way how Dom is a typical bad ass character but with this side of emotion with him. I have left a link below for those who would like to watch both scenes.

Gears of war 2 scene http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nqpwts67HdM

Gears of war 3 scene http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVGbHOuxVI4

Leave a Reply

